top of page

Overcome Adversity

Overcome Adversity by Chase Cord

Battling through adversity will develop stronger people.

Life will test you and push you to your breaking point. What will keep you going is the reason why you started. The same reason you rolled out of bed this morning. Whatever it is you are going through, keep pushing. It is making you stronger. I was in a Kinesiology class my sophomore year of college and I presented the idea of "Resilience". I really enjoyed presenting this to the class, but it was in that moment I realized I was the one who needed to hear it the most. Here's why...

I have played sports my entire life. Football since I was 6 years old. Basketball since I was 7. I won 3 gold medals in track and field when I was 10. I've worked my tail off getting to the next level of competition. Unfortunately, injuries are a part of the game. The long list of injuries began in high school when I tore my ACL in a high school basketball game. I responded. Within 6 months I was cleared to play my senior football season. I broke school and state records, leaving a legacy behind despite the challenges. Fast forward to my sophomore year of college, I begin seeing more playing time behind a current NFL quarterback, Brett Rypien. Week 6 I re-tore my ACL in practice. This puts me out for the rest of the season and next year's spring ball which ultimately sets me out of the quarterback competition. I responded. I stay prepared. Showed up every day ready to take over. Prepared like the starter. Eventually, I got my shot. The injury bug looms...

We played against Hawaii and our starter went down. The same game, I take a hard hit to my throwing shoulder which damaged my AC joint and partially tore my labrum. Could barely lift my arm. But this was my chance to lead, so I pushed through adversity. I wasn't given the option to rest it, but instead took numbing shots into my shoulder multiple days a week for the rest of the season. I was hurting every day of the week. The mental gymnastics were overwhelming. But I responded.

I won my first start on the Blue against a Logan Wilson-led Wyoming defense.

During this game, I re-aggravated a deep bone bruise and cartilage damage in my knee, I fractured my middle finger knuckle in my throwing hand, and I further damaged bone spurs in my ankle. Isn't football FUN?! I got surgery on my ankle and my shoulder within a 7-day window. This was undoubtedly the most challenging time of my life. I am thankful for the people who helped me through that time. But I still responded. I don't get to tell that story very often, and the amount of detail I can expand on would take hours to type through. If you want to hear more, comment down below or we can talk 1on1. There is a lot more to the stories you read above...

Looking back, it is amazing to think about the amount stress, discomfort and pain I had to push through during these times in my life. I am proud of the struggles I overcame because it has made me the person I am today. When I face challenges and obstacles, I know I can overcome them because I believe in myself, I attack challenges and I will never give up.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page